I didn't really worry about alcohol w/Gracie since she is 11 years old and prefers Mad Dog 20/20 (snort!) however I needed whiskey or bourbon for our Bourbon Chicken last night and did some more hunting.
Wednesday, July 6, 2011
There is a LOT of information out there about alcohol, the distillation process and gluten free alcohol - turns out almost all distilled alcohols are gluten free!! Celiac.com has a good article about the distillation process.
I happened to have Evan Williams Bourbon on hand and I always appreciate a company who labels their product GF - on their web site or especially on their packaging.
Here is another great article by Celiac.com showing GF alcoholic beverages. Wine is naturally gluten free - then there is beer... Mainstream beer is not gluten free however there are several specialty beers that are. BJ's Brewhouse not only has a gluten free menu - they also brew a gluten free beer!
So - you can have your whiskey and drink it too!